Triple B’s win Atlantic Bank football championship

s1The Triple B’s of Belmopan bombed the Ladyville Jaguars 8-0 in the second game of the finals to win the 2013 Atlantic Bank women’s football championship at the FIFA Goal Project Stadium in Belmopan on Saturday, September 7.

Kaina Martinez and Miriam Villamil led the Triple B’s offensive supported by Joslyn “Chu-chu” Cadle and Iris Centeno on the wings and Kaya Cattouse and Jennisha Scott at midfield. Sheryann “Baby” Tracy  anchored the Ladyville Jaguars’ defense with the help of Alma Alarcon and Mercedes Choc, but they were without sweeper Shinelle Gentle, who is sitting out a red card suspension after being sent off in the first finals.

Jaguars’ all-rounder striker-defender Sara Arzu was honouring other commitments and could not be present, so there was really no one to stop Kaina Martinez from scoring the first goal in the opening minutes of the game.

Miriam Villamil soon added a second goal, and a few minutes later, Kaina embarrassed goalkeeper Claudia Martinez with a third goal. She completed her hat trick with a fourth goal as the hosts led 4-0 at intermission.

Georgia Vaccaro and Kara Kisling led the visitors’ counterattack, supported by Shameika Franklin and Nancy Bainton on the wings and Britney Nunez and Gloria Garcia at midfield But they could not get by the staunch defense of Triple B’s Rose Ogaldez, Shadalee Ho, Beatrice Alfaro and Shandy Vernon. Goalkeeper Idania Ramirez took care of all other challenges.

After the break, Kaina advanced up the right sideline and centered the ball across the goal to Jennisha Scott, for whom it was child’s play to shoo the ball into the net with a tap of her left foot ; 5-0.

Kara Kisling came a cropper of a hard challenge by the Triple B’s defense and had to be carried off the field. Coach Michael “Watah-plait” Flowers introduced Veronica Flores to replace Franklin, while Triple B’s technical director Kent Gabourel Sr. refreshed his offensive lineup with Noemi Magaña replacing Cadle.

Kaina escaped the last defenders and took on Claudia Martinez solo to blast the ball into the net from point blank range: 6-0. Ladyville’s Dawn Bainton replaced Mercedes Choc, but Miriam Villamil now mounted a solo effort to lob the ball over Claudia  into the far corner of the vee: 7-0.

Rose Ogaldez now moved up from defense to join the goal-shooting derby and escaped the last defenders. Sheryann Tracy tried to close her off, but not before Ogaldez blasted a shot into the back of the net: 8-0 final score.

The Dangriga Pumas won the consolation game for 3rd place: 5-4 over  four time champions, Gentle Touch of Esperanza.

Shayama “Shy” Caliz scored the Pumas’ first goal and  Nykemah Kuylen scored  the second. Naomi Gamboa added a third and Emmerlyn “Emma” Nuñez added the  fourth as the Pumas led 4-3 at intermission.

Gentle Touch equalized the score 4-4 after the break, but then the Pumas won a free kick, and Nykemah Kuylen’s execution set table for Emmerlyn Nunez to finish into the back of the net: 5-4.

Atlantic Bank’s Belmopan branch manager Carlos Moreno presented the team trophies to the champions, second and third place winners, and the individual awards. Triple B’s Kaina Martinez won the Most Valuable Player award, Shandy Vernon won Best Defender and Iris Centeno won Best Midfielder.  The Jaguars’ Claudia Martinez won Best Goalkeeper and Kara Kisling won the Most Goals award. Kent Gabourel won Best Coach and Jean Trapp-Gabourel won Best Manager.

Comments are closed.