Joel Borland wins BCA time trials

By Willam Ysaguirre

Joel Borland of the Telemedia cycling team won the individual time trials organized by the Belize Cycling Association on the Burrell Boom bypass road on Saturday, February 1, clocking 30:33 over a 12-mile course to win first place overall in the elite category and first in the under-23 category.
National road champion, Byron Pope, of the Benny’s Megabytes team, clocked 30:35 to take second place, while Borland’s teammate Giovanni Lovell was third in 31:45, also winning second place in the under-23 category.
David Pollard, riding unattached, was fourth among the elite’s in 32:18, also winning first place in the Over-35 Masters category.
The ‘flying Scotsman’, Robert Liam Stewart, of the Benny’s Megabytes team, clocked 32:26, fifth overall, to take first place in the Over-45 Masters category.
Pope’s teammates Allen Castillo and Mark Staine clocked 33:17 and 34:17, respectively, as they finished sixth and ninth overall.
Warren Coye of the Santino’s “ride to victory team clocked 33:32 to finish seventh overall and second in the Over-35 Masters category, while Stephen Bisset of the CDS Gas team clocked 34:00 to finish eighth overall and second place in the Over-45 Masters category.
Daniel Cano, of the DigiCell 4G team, clocked 34:49 to round out the top 10 and take third place in the Over-35 Masters category, while Santino “Chief” Castillo clocked 35:42 for 11th place overall and first among the place in the Over-55 Masters.
Zahir Figueroa of the BECOL Uprising team clocked 14:00 over a six-mile course to win the Junior time trial, while his teammate Delon Gentle was second in 14:08. Delawn Abraham of Benny’s Megabytes team was third in 14:34, while Figueroa’s teammates Keon Robateau and Adrian Aleman were fourth and fifth respectively in 15:04 and 15:45.
Michael Grajales was sixth among the juniors in 16:56, while Dennis Arnold clocked 17:25 for seventh place.
Alicia Thompson of the Belize Bank Swoosh team won the female category in 16:14, while Kieah Eiley was second in 16:38 and Kaya Cattouse of the C-ray team was third in 20:08.

Comments are closed.