Camalote Blazers win Miley Garcia softball championship

sCamalote Blazers won the 2013 Miley Garcia women’s softball championship, by a 5-0 victory over Roaring Creek Grace Kennedy in the third game of the finals organized by the Cayo Softball Association at the Denbeigh Fuller Stadium in Camalote last Sunday, September 22.

Winning pitcher Francine Salazar struck out two batters and gave up only one hit, while the rest of the Blazer diamond committed only one error, allowing no runs to score and forcing the Grace Kennedy girls to leave three runners on base.

s2Grace Kennedy’s pitcher, Leyandra Guy  struck out two batters but her pitching collapsed in the third inning, and the Blazers collected five hits off her.

She walked three batters and others on the diamond committed four errors, allowing Frances Coye, Tamira Martinez, Bridgett Fuller and Emogene Coye to score in the  bottom of the third inning.

Shadine Salazar scored a fifth run in the bottom of the fourth inning to complete the 5-0 rout, even though the Camalote ladies left six runners on base.

The Grace Kennedy girls had taken the finals series to a third game by a 6-3 victory over the Blazers in the second game earlier that afternoon. The Grace Kennedy batters collected six hits off Francine Salazar, who also struck out four batters. The Camalote fielders made seven errors, allowing Karlee Bradley to score in the bottom of the first inning.

Molly Coye scored for Camalote in the top of the second inning, but Grace Kennedy led 4-1 when and Shanicka Anderson, Lisandra Guy and Myralee Ho scored in the bottom of the second.

Camalote collected nine hits off  Leyandra Guy, but only Francine Coye scored in the top of the third inning.

Shadalee Ho extended the lead to 5-2 in the bottom of the third inning and Shadalee scored again in the top of the fifth  to lead 6-3 until Nadine Coye scored Camalote’s third run in the top of the sixth. The Grace Kennedy diamond committed only one error, forcing Camalote to leave  seven runners on base with no runs scored.

The Esperanza Wolverines and the Ontario Rebels were to have played the consolation game for third place, but the Rebels forfeited the game to Esperanza.

Tournament sponsor Miley Garcia and his wife were on hand to present the championship trophy, second and third place team trophies, and the individual awards in the closing ceremonies after the final game.

Star pitcher Francine Salazar won four awards as the pitcher with the most wins: 10, the most strikeouts 28, and the best batting average: 0.538 she also won the Most Valuable Player award.

Melinda Blancaneaux of the Esperanza Wolverines won the Most Home runs award. She had hit four . Sharine Reyes of the Ontario Rebels won the Most Stolen Bases award. She stole seven. Grace Kennedy’s Greta Davis won the award for Most Runs Batted In (RBI’s): 22.

Camalote’s Shanay Williams won Rookie of the Year; while Kalon Webster won Coach of the Year. Lindsay Garbutt won manager of the year.

The Best sportsmanship award went to the Las Flores Shooting Stars, which never won a single game but never lost heart and played on.

Trophies for the 2012 competition were also presented.  Camalote United won the championship, Roaring Creek Grace Kennedy were second and the University of Belize took third place.

Leyandra Guy won the award for Pitcher with the Most Wins: 8, while Kenreen Gillett shared the Most Strikeouts award in a three way tie; 25 each, with Francine Salazar and Grace Kennedy’s Ayannah Smith. Kenreen Gillett awon the Most Valuable Player award.

Nadina Coye had the Best Batting Average: 0.620, while Astrid Jones hit the Most Home Runs: 2, and also won the  award for Most Runs Batted In (RBI’s): 15. Ann Soberanis of the Esperanza Wolverines won the Most Stolen Bases award; she stole nine. Sherrie MacFadzean won Rookie of the Year award.

Grace Kennedy’s coach Raymond Garbutt won Coach of the Year. Ernesto Thimbrell won manager of the year.

Both the champions and the sub-champions will represent the Cayo district in the National Softball Championship Tournament at the Roger’s Stadium in Belize City, from Friday to Sunday, September 27-29.

Comments are closed.