Belize Elementary girls win Natianal Football Championships

The girls of Belize Elementary School won the national primary schools football championships organized by the National Sports Council at the Institute of Technical, Vocational and Employment Training (ITVET) and at the M.C.C. grounds on Friday, December 7.
The Belize Elementary girls won the championship final 3-1 in penalty shootout. The BES eleven, coached by Jose Palmiro Salas, held the Cayo district champions, the girls of Santa Elena Primary School, to a scoreless draw in regulation time.
Donna Che scored the first goal for Belize Elementary, but Shantel Robinson equalized for Santa Elena. BES goalkeeper Iyannie Castillo then stopped the Santa Elena’s next three tries, while Keila Oyuela and Chelsea Williams converted for the 3-1 victory.
The Belize Elementary girls had advanced to the finals when Chloe Kelly scored the wining goal for their 1-0 victory over the Toledo district champions, the girls of Golden Stream Government School in the semifinals.
The Santa Elena girls also advanced to the finals by a 2-0 victory over the Stann Creek district champions, the girls of Holy Ghost RC School in the semifinals. Santa Elena took a 1-0 lead when a shot by Sheriece Williams deflected off of a Stann Creek defender for that dreaded autogoal, and Sheriece would add a second goal.
The Holy Ghost girls won the consolation game for third place 2-0 over the Golden Stream girls when Destiny Garcia scored the first winning goal, and Kaylin Mejia added a second for the 2-0 victory.
The Belize Elementary girls had advanced to the semifinals by winning the opening game of the tournament 3-0 in a penalty shootout over the Orange Walk district champions, the girls of Trial Farm Government School. Allyssa Mckenzie, Iyannie Castillo and Donna Che all converted for BES, while Castillo stopped all three of the Trial Farm girls’ tries. The BES girls lost their second game 1-0 to the Holy Ghost girls, when Kaylin Mejia scored the wining goal.
The Santa Elena girls had also advanced to the semifinals by a win and a loss in the first round. They triumphed 4-1 over the Corozal district champions, the girls of Ranchito Government School, in the second game of the day.
Shantel Robinson, Jinelly Betancourt, Sheriece Williams and Marie Fernandez all converted for Santa Elena, while only Becky Cassanova succeeded in converting her try for Ranchito.
The Santa Elena girls did not do so well in their second outing as they failed to score in regulation time against the Golden Stream girls, who then outgunned them 3-2 in the penalty shootout that followed.
Goalkeeper Regina Caal, Emma Pop and Ellia Pop converted for Golden Stream, while Santa Elena missed its first two tries, and only Shantel Robinson and Shelby Smith converted for Santa Elena.
The Holy Ghost girls advanced to the semifinals undefeated as Destiny Garcia scored the winning goal in their 1-0 victory over Trial Farm girls, who were eliminated by their second loss.
The Golden Stream girls also advanced to the semifinals undefeated as Benita Bah and Jesseca Caal scored the winning goals in their 2-0 victory over the Ranchito girls, who were also eliminated by their second loss.
Minister of Sports Herman Longsworth presented the championship, second and third place team trophies to the winners in the award ceremonies after the final game.
Goalkeeper Iyannie Castillo captured the Most Valuable Player award for her stellar performance in stopping six penalties in two shootouts and scoring a goal herself.

Comments are closed.